[Review] The Winter People by Rebekah L. Purdy


ABOUT

Title: The Winter People

Author: Rebekah L. Purdy 

Series: N/A 

Publisher: Entangled Teen 

Release Date: September 2nd 2014 



Source: e-ARC via NetGalley
Synopsis:
An engrossing, complex, romantic fantasy perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore or Maggie Stiefvater, set in a wholly unique world.

Salome Montgomery fears winter—the cold, the snow, the ice, but most of all, the frozen pond she fell through as a child. Haunted by the voices and images of the strange beings that pulled her to safety, she hasn't forgotten their warning to "stay away." For eleven years, she has avoided the winter woods, the pond, and the darkness that lurks nearby. But when failing health takes her grandparents to Arizona, she is left in charge of maintaining their estate. This includes the "special gifts" that must be left at the back of the property.
 


Salome discovers she’s a key player in a world she’s tried for years to avoid. At the center of this world is the strange and beautiful Nevin, who she finds trespassing on her family’s property. Cursed with dark secrets and knowledge of the creatures in the woods, his interactions with Salome take her life in a new direction. A direction where she'll have to decide between her longtime crush Colton, who could cure her fear of winter. Or Nevin who, along with an appointed bodyguard, Gareth, protects her from the darkness that swirls in the snowy backdrop. An evil that, given the chance, will kill her.


I received an e-ARC from Entangled Teen via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This fact in no shape or form affects my review. Except for the existence of the review itself. I received no compensation for this review in any way.This is my honest opinion of the work.

If anything, y'all should know how much I love winter by now, and THE WINTER PEOPLE shows the dark, paranormal side to winter.

Entangled seems to have a thing for books with swoony book boys, because they publish the Lux series too, and I love Daemon to the ends of the Earth and back. In this book, there are three swoony guys: Colton, Nevin and Gareth. And while I enjoy swoony book boys, I think three in one book is a little overkill. Of course, they change and not everything is as it seems in the beginning. I was really into Colton in the beginning and then my attention shifted towards Gareth. Gareth is so sweet and protective and he's loyal to Salome. Also, he's hella hot. I mean, he rides a motorcycle and has tattoos. I definitely wouldn't mind having a Gareth around me. Yum.

There were times when I definitely screamed at Salome mentally. Seriously, she's been warned so many times not to wander into the woods. These creepy things happen to her and she still ventures into the woods because of curiosity. THIS IS HOW PEOPLE GET KILLED. I don't know how she doesn't have a radar for these sort of horror movie murder scene situations. Then again, it seems that most protags don't have them, because then the story would probably never progress.

I didn't really enjoy Kadie's character too much. While I loved that she acknowledged Salome's fear of winter and didn't question or make light of it, I would have liked to see more complexity to her. I felt that there was far too much of a focus on how she dated often.

Everything seemed to get crazier and crazier as the book went on, which I liked, because everything just felt like it was spiraling out of control. When things started happening and Salome hears voices, she thinks she's going crazy. Not only that, some people in her life clearly know what's going on, but they keep telling her that it's nothing or they don't tell her what's going on. I definitely felt the frustration just as Salome did. She went through some seriously crazy things and I felt so terrible for her when the thing with her dad happened.

Also, the entirety of the story spans over more than a year, which I also liked because sometimes in books, everything seems to happen at once. It skimmed over the other three seasons, because it didn't really matter too much since this book is all about winter. I liked that it took time, and it wasn't like Romeo and Juliet where they fell in loved and then died in a matter of three days.

And THAT ENDING. I mean. I get that love is important, but all I can say is, seriously Salome? Seriously? I think that it's a bit over dramatic.




Happy Reading!
post signature

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blogger Template designed by Andy Mae Studios