Waiting on Wednesday -- Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.



ABOUT

Title: Empire of Sand
Author: Tasha Suri
Publisher: Orbit Books
Release Date: November 13th 2018 

Synopsis:
A nobleman's daughter with magic in her blood. An empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods. Tasha Suri's captivating debut is perfect for readers of City of Brass and The Wrath & the Dawn.

The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is the illegitimate daughter of an imperial governor and an exiled Amrithi mother she can barely remember, but whose face and magic she has inherited. Unbeknownst to her, she can manipulate the dreams of the gods to alter the face of the world.

When Mehr's power comes to the attention of the Emperor's most feared mystics, she is coerced into their service, as they are determined to harness her magic for the glory of the Empire. She must use every ounce of will, subtlety, and power she possesses to resist the mystics' cruel agenda -- and should she fail, the gods themselves may awaken seeking vengeance...


How amazing does this book sound???? I'm so shook. "An empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods" um. HELLOOOOO. If you haven't realized by now, I'm trash for stories and books about gods in fantasy and the way they factor into the worlds that are created in fantasy novels. Will there be a post in the future of me gushing about history and religion in fantasy?? Maybe.

Anyways, this book sounds so fantastic and I can't wait to read this book! The synopsis calls to my fantasy loving soul so much omg.



Happy Reading!
post signature

[Review] The Epic Crush of Genie Lo by F. C. Yee


ABOUT

Title: The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
Author: F.C. Yee
Series: The Epic Crush of Genie Lo #1 
Publisher: Amulet Books
Release Date: August 8th 2017 

Synopsis:
She annihilates standardized tests and the bad guys.

Genie Lo is one among droves of Ivy-hopeful overachievers in her sleepy Bay Area suburb. You know, the type who wins. When she’s not crushing it at volleyball or hitting the books, Genie is typically working on how to crack the elusive Harvard entry code.

But when her hometown comes under siege from hellspawn straight out of Chinese folklore, her priorities are dramatically rearranged. Enter Quentin Sun, a mysterious new kid in class who becomes Genie’s self-appointed guide to battling demons. While Genie knows Quentin only as an attractive transfer student with an oddly formal command of the English language, in another reality he is Sun Wukong, the mythological Monkey King incarnate—right down to the furry tale and penchant for peaches.

Suddenly, acing the SATs is the least of Genie’s worries. The fates of her friends, family, and the entire Bay Area all depend on her summoning an inner power that Quentin assures her is strong enough to level the very gates of Heaven. But every second Genie spends tapping into the secret of her true nature is a second in which the lives of her loved ones hang in the balance.

[Bite Sized Review] To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo



ABOUT

Title: To Kill a Kingdom
Author: Alexandra Christo
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Release Date: March 6th 2018 

Synopsis:
Princess Lira is siren royalty and the most lethal of them all. With the hearts of seventeen princes in her collection, she is revered across the sea. Until a twist of fate forces her to kill one of her own. To punish her daughter, the Sea Queen transforms Lira into the one thing they loathe most—a human. Robbed of her song, Lira has until the winter solstice to deliver Prince Elian’s heart to the Sea Queen or remain a human forever.

The ocean is the only place Prince Elian calls home, even though he is heir to the most powerful kingdom in the world. Hunting sirens is more than an unsavory hobby—it’s his calling. When he rescues a drowning woman in the ocean, she’s more than what she appears. She promises to help him find the key to destroying all of sirenkind for good—But can he trust her? And just how many deals will Elian have to barter to eliminate mankind’s greatest enemy?

I received an advanced copy from Indigo Teen in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion whatsoever.

I totally picked this book up to read because of Mith's recommendation as I do with a lot of the books I'm reading lately. She and I just have a very similar taste in books and I've even started a shelf on my goodreads that will be populated with the books she recommends.

This book was such a fun read. There's definitely a lot of angst in this book with Lira's situation of having been plucked from her life by her Sea Queen mother and given legs so that she can steal a prince's heart. Though not just any prince of course, but a prince who prides himself in killing sirens like Lira. Elian is also in turmoil as he struggles with his role as crown prince and his heart longing for the freedom of the sea. He's also hell-bent on killing sirens, protecting the humans from the "monsters" that rule the sea. And of course because they're natural enemies, their banter is so so good and they have a natural chemistry.

I really breezed through this book since the pacing was so well done. It reads really well and has a well-developed world that we're introduced to throughout the novel without it ever feeling as if we're being info dumped. The point of views in the book also switch between both Elian and Lira. The chapters aren't labelled with whose point of view it is which mildly irritated me. Even though I would eventually figure it out, it was a little annoying having to figure it out especially when they were doing a rehashing of the same event in different points of view.

The end part was a little weird and hard for me, mainly because of my whole thing with reading action scenes and not being able to visualize them properly. Alexandra Christo mentioned in a Twitter chat that she is writing short stories of Lira and Elian and I absolutely can't wait. I love the two characters a lot and their bantering.

Overall, I would definitely recommend a read of it, especially as it spins The Little Mermaid on its head. I look forward to the short stories and whatever her next project may be! I hope there are more banter-y characters please.




Happy Reading!
post signature

[Review] Whisper of the Tide by Sarah Tolcser


ABOUT

Title: Whisper of the Tide
Author: Sarah Tolcser 
Series: Song of the Current #2
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Release Date: June 5 2018 

Synopsis:
Caro Oresteia spent her life waiting to be called by the river god, as those in her family had been for generations. But when she’s swept away on an adventure to save the Akhaian royal prince, Markos, her destiny is sealed by the sea god instead.

For now, Caro is landlocked, helping Markos reclaim his throne after nearly his entire family was assassinated in a political coup. Without any financial or military support, Markos is desperate for allies, and Caro has fought off more than one attempt on his life. When a powerful Archon offers his army in exchange for Markos’s marriage to his daughter, Caro must choose: Her love for Markos, or the fate of Akhaia? And more importantly: How much is she willing to risk to defy the sea god’s wishes and chart her own course?

With shipwrecks, lost treasure, old and new enemies, dark magic, and breathtaking romance, Sarah Tolcser weaves another epic story about chasing your fate.

Blogger Template designed by Andy Mae Studios